A Black Cat Story-“Love Knows No Color”

Standard

Everyday, I go onto “The Animal Rescue Site” and, by simply clicking a button, feed a shelter animal. I also read rescue stories, tweeting some of the better ones.

This story I could not help but re-blog. As a parent of two lovable black furbabies (amongst others), I know the truth – that superstitions are just that – superstitions. Nothing could be further from the reality of having a black cat in your life. In fact, they bring luck into your lives by providing you with unconditional love! (Something that is not guaranteed in other parts of your life. Now, isn’t that worth an adoption?)

“Love Knows No Color”

A few months ago, I moved half way across the country to get my Master’s degree. I come from a family of cat lovers and have always had a fur baby around. Moving away from my family (my feline family as well) was rough and from the first day I’d moved in I wanted a kitty. After a month or so, I couldn’t take not having a pet anymore, so I convinced my boyfriend into allowing me just to look.

We noticed a black kitty who had been sitting in it’s foster’s lap the whole time we were there looking around. I leaned over to pet him and she allowed me to hold him. It was like love at first sight. He allowed my boyfriend and I to snuggle up to him and he snuggled right back. We asked about his story and his foster said that his mother was feral and that she’d saved her and her kittens. His colorful siblings were all adopted out the first couple weeks, but he stuck around for months after them. She explained that black cats are harder to adopt out due to the stigma that’s still attached to them. After that I was all in on getting Sunny and since then he has brought so much joy to my life.

Every morning Sunny wakes me up with kisses on my face and everyday I get home from class, he’s running down the hall to the front door greeting me with meow’s of how his day went. I can’t even image how people couldn’t want such a loving little kitty based on color. It’s sad to know that black cats are less likely to be adopted based on color when what matters is their personality.

When adopting keep in mind that black cats need love too!

Anonymous
Lubbock, TX

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Black Cat Story-“Love Knows No Color”

Your kind comments are welcome.

