A New Year – A New Lesson – And Some New Ideas

Standard

Let me start off with a very Healthy and Happy New Year to all!  Healthy first, because that is so important – for so many reasons! Reasons I will go into at a later date.  Happy needs no reasons!

When Kraftycat Jewelry and Creations re-launched just after Christmas, Iittle did I realize that some items on the website still needed tweeking! As I have said previously in this blog, this is a learning experience and learning is something I am certainly doing! Just by the fact of not knowing about these “glitches”, and knowing how it may have effected some customers, taught me never to expect a smooth landing when starting up a business – and I sincerely apologize for any and all inconvenience caused.

A very patient customer contacted Kraftycat by phone with some questions. The both of us went through a sale together – her on her computer, me on mine – and my eyes opened to the fact that the site needed to be more user-friendly!

thank you cat

I thanked the lady profusely and quickly emailed tech support about several of the issues, two of which were as follows:

 1) If using a gift voucher or a discount code, it can only be entered in the “shopping cart”. Therefore, if one was to bypass the “shopping cart” and go directly to “checkout”, there would be no place to enter either of these!

 2) For “method of payment”, it stated to “pick your method below” and only showed PayPal for your choice. Definitely confusing!

confusion

Upon receiving a reply the next day, I learned another valuable lesson – there is no such thing as a perfect program. The issues I brought up could not be fixed within the confines of the program “Open Cart” – they could only be fixed by my own brand of patching – writing explanations where and when possible!

So in the future, discount codes and gift vouchers will state how to apply it for a purchase.

The “method of payment” section of the “checkout”, now sports an explanation of how to use the “secure PayPal portal”, where you can use any credit or debit card, without having a PayPal account.

And if any other website lessons need to be learned, I have no qualms about my customers teaching them – after all, the customer is always right!

ideas

And new ideas are always going to evolve. I have a couple to share today.

– I will be writing about different gemstones, many of which are used in the creations being designed for Kraftycat. In the next blog I will focus on the color, healing properties and other information on a stone of interest – my interest or yours. I invite you to pick a gemstone to learn about. Please use the comment section below.

–  Find happiness every day. If you look, there is always something that brings a smile to your face, even if it is only for a fleeting moment. Take that moment and study it, amplify it, make it the center of your day. That fleeting moment suddenly grows bigger and brighter as you take the time to contemplate it. In no time at all, you recapture that feeling of happiness!

One thought on “A New Year – A New Lesson – And Some New Ideas

Your kind comments are welcome.

